Family shows at Theatre Royal Winchester

January 12, 2024

Theatre Royal Winchester has a brand-new programme packed full of family shows guaranteed to entertain young and old, creating plenty of opportunities for the generations to come together to enjoy lots of quality time.

The fun starts with an evening of circus, magic and comedy in the Hat Fair Cabaret (Sun 21 Jan) – all the excitement of Winchester’s Outdoor Arts festival but in the middle of winter!

February sees the return of The Amazing Bubble Man (Sun 11 Feb) who has entertained audiences around the world with his breath-taking bubbles of all shapes and sizes.

There are also adaptations of stories from beloved children’s book author, Julia Donaldson – including Zog and the Flying Doctors (Fri 08 – Sun 10 Mar) about a princess, a knight and a dragon who care for a poorly mermaid, a unicorn and a lion; The Gruffalo’s Child (Sat 23 – Sun 24 Mar) – who ignores her father’s warnings about the Big Bad Mouse to adventure into the deep, dark wood; Charlie Cook’s Favourite Book (Tue 02 – Wed 03 Apr) is about a boy who loves books about pirates and tries to convince his sister that reading is fun; and The Singing Mermaid (Sat 13 – Sun 14 Apr) is tempted to join a travelling circus but is tricked by a dastardly circus master. All the shows are packed with colourful puppets, music and song and suitable for ages 3+, plus the young at heart!

Next, London’s world-renowned Science Museum presents The Live Stage Show (Sun 17 Mar) – a brand-new show aimed at capturing the imagination of the whole family and inspiring all ages as they learn something new in exciting ways!

Little ones will enjoy Dear Zoo (Sat 06 – Sun 07 Apr) – based on Rod Campbell’s classic lift-the-flap book that has been enjoyed for over 40 years – with his distinctive illustrations leaping off the page to tell the story of Ben and Sally who write to the zoo asking for a pet.

There’s also magic from Pete Firman (Sat 20 Jan) whose videos have gone viral; Britain’s Got Talent comedian, Viggo Venn (Wed 24 Jan); bizarre circus acts and more (dark) magic, this time in The Circus of Horrors Cabaret of Curiosities (Tue 06 Feb); parodies, Friend (The One with Gunther) (Fri 09 Feb) and Buffy Revamped (Tue 20 Feb); plus Houdini’s Great Escape (Thu 22 – Sat 24 Feb) with physical comedy, plus magic designed by Pete Firman.

Finally, another Britain’s Got Talent finalist, young magician Cillian O’Connor, presents his first ever live stage show, My Magic World (Tue 30 Jul), this summer.

There are more shows yet to go on sale, so audiences should keep their eyes peeled on the theatre’s website – where they can also find the recommended age for each show as some may be better suited to younger children while others for older and teenagers.

Pete Firman: Trik Tok will be at the theatre on Saturday 20 January at 7.30pm

Hat Fair Cabaret, Sunday 21 January at 7.30pm. This is a Pick Your Price show giving audiences the chance to choose a ticket option best for them.

Viggo Venn: British Comedian, Wednesday 24 January, 7.30pm

The Circus of Horrors Cabaret of Curiosities, Tuesday 06 February, 7.30pm

Friend (The One with Gunther), Friday 09 February, 7.30pm

The Amazing Bubble Man, Sunday 11 February, 2pm

Buffy Revamped, Tuesday 20 February, 7.30pm

Houdini’s Great Escape, Thursday 22 – Saturday 24 February, various times

Zog and the Flying Doctors, Friday 08 – Sun 10 March, various times

Science Museum: The Live Stage Show, Sunday 17 March, 1.30pm

The Gruffalo’s Child, Saturday 23 – Sunday 24 March, various times

Charlie Cook’s Favourite Book, Tuesday 02 – Wednesday 03 April, various times

Dear Zoo, Saturday 06 – Sunday 07 April, various times

The Singing Mermaid, Saturday 13 – Sunday 14 April, various times

Cillian O’Connor: My Magic World, Tuesday 30 July, 7pm

 

For more information or to book tickets visit theatreroyalwinchester.co.uk or call 01962 840 440.

Don't miss out! Sign up to get offers, competitions and days out ideas!

Don't miss out! Sign up to get offers, competitions and days out ideas!

Sign up to the Hampshire's Top Attractions enewsletters. We'll send you an email once or twice a month, with ideas for days out, upcoming events, discounts at attractions and special competitions across Hampshire and the Isle of Wight with Hampshire's Top Attractions.

Thank you for signing up to the Hampshire's Top Attractions enewsletters! Remember to pop us on your safe senders list.